‘No Plastic, No big deal’ – Ryder, 11

Author: Ryder Moore-Lukaszewski, 11 years old. |

Plastic-free July really hasn’t been that big of a deal. My mom hasn’t used any plastic bags since before I was born (and I’m 11 years old now). I haven’t used a juice box for over a year and always bring my lunches to school in containers; no disposable packaging ever.  I wish more people would do the same. plastic free july ryder

Sometimes we forget our bags and walk out of the store with everything in our arms. Sometimes there’s no way around packaging like the Luna Bars I love for snacks (which we continued to buy throughout Plastic-Free July, sorry!) We have been paying more attention to packaging and had to say “no” to certain fruits and vegetables like strawberries, my favorite.  But the upside was that my mom bought my favorite apple juice because it comes in glass containers, not plastic.

We tried to use our own cup for the delicious lemonade at Chic-Fil-A once in the city but they wouldn’t allow it. We did use our own straws though.  I get very upset when I see all the bags people use in checkout lines at grocery stores when I know how easy it is to avoid them.

Leave a comment